Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
EWTG Woman of the Year - 2003 - Susan McClure Johnson
Share |
Susan Johnson

Susan McClure Johnson
2003 Woman of the Year

EWTG was pleased to announce Susan McClure Johnson as the 2003 Woman of the Year. Susan has been a leader in EWTG since she joined in 1990. She has served as president and vice-president, committee chair and committee member. She also has been a presenter at two recent EWTG annual conferences. She currently holds the position of Membership Director on the 2004 EWTG Board

As EWTG president, Susan initiated several key projects, including the first annual report, leading the effort to locate EWTG's first office space, and establishing a job bank phone line to assist members. Appropriately, she initiated the creation of the EWTG Woman of the Year Award to honor and recognize the accomplishments of an individual member. As vice president and conference chair, she instituted the silent auction and developed corporate sponsorships.

She began her career as a public school teacher, eventually leaving teaching to serve Texas' elderly population at the West Central Texas Council of Government and later at the Texas Department of Community Affairs. She has served in a number of distinguished organizations, including the Outreach Center at the University of Texas at Austin, the Office of the Governor, and the Annie E. Casey Foundation Mental Health Initiative in Houston.

Since 2000 Susan has been the staff assistant to the Executive Deputy Commissioner of the Texas Department of Human Services (DHS), serving as the liaison between executive management and the $302M Texas Integrated Eligibility Redesign System (TIERS) project director. The TIERS system provides DHS with a single, integrated system to determine eligibility for food, cash assistance, and services to Texans in need.

On top of a demanding work schedule, Susan dedicates a significant portion of her life to 14 separate community organizations. Her service to the community is evidenced by the honors she has received, including Woman of Distinction by the Lone Star Girl Scout Council, Distinguished Mother Award by Jack and Jill of America, Volunteer Service Award by the Austin Urban League, and the Community Leadership Award by the Wesley United Methodist Church. She is also the proud mother of two daughters.

Other 2003 Woman of the Year nominees were. Beverly Bavousett, SeniorAuditor, StateAuditor's Office; Gaye McElwain, Director of Marketing, Texas Commission on the Arts; and Brenda Zielke, Administrative Manager, Hamon Center for Therapeutic Oncology. Congratulations to all our deserving nominees!

PO Box 1635, Leander, TX 78646
| 512-220-4298
| 512-692-2651 (fax)

We Thank Our 2019 Sponsors

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal